René Sieber

René Sieber devotes his expertise, knowledge and the experience, gained throughout professional and academic careers, to consulting services. He is an Adjunct Professor of finance at the University of Geneva and worked for almost thirty-five years at the heart of financial markets, including more than twenty-five years in executive roles.

Areas of expertise include asset management, especially managing core market risks. René is a recognised pioneer in portfolio insurance, a risk-management technique that he has applied since the nineties, and to the development of which he still actively contributes. He has also been consistently engaged in the field of socially responsible investing (SRI), in which he has gained in-depth knowledge of the realities and challenges over the past fifteen years. November 2019 he was appointed Chairman of the Swiss Sustainable Funds Awards Jury. These prizes are awarded by the Geneva Forum for Sustainable Investment (GFSI).

His services are aimed at boards of directors, foundation boards and investment committees, all of whom can benefit from his expertise – acquired by managing assets for institutions and jointly heading a specialist investment-services firm – as well as from his professional network.

BIOGRAPHY

After earning a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Geneva (UNIGE) in the field of international investment and conducting research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for a year as a Visiting Scholar, René Sieber began his asset management career in 1985 as an economist at the Geneva-based Banque de Dépôts (a constituent part of the future EFG Group), where he was also responsible for setting investment policy.

In 1987, he joined Unigestion S.A., an asset management company in Geneva, where he was in charge of fixed-income investment strategy. In 1990, he was appointed head of institutional account management.

From 1993 to 2018, René took the route of entrepreneurship, co-founding Dynagest S.A. – an independent asset manager specialising in interest-rate and quantitative management for an institutional client base. In 2006, Dynagest S.A. was granted a securities dealers’ licence by the Swiss Federal Banking Commission (today FINMA). In addition to shared responsibility for defining corporate strategy and developing business, René led and developed quantitative portfolio insurance management as well as supervising research and fixed-income management.

The success of portfolio insurance risk-management products, particularly currency and equity overlays, hoisted Dynagest S.A. (with AUMs that have exceeded CHF five billion) into Investment and Pensions Europe’s Top 400 Asset Managers rankings for several years running. René played a major role in achieving a strong market position for Dynagest S.A., which in the late 1990s became known in Switzerland as a pioneer in asymmetric market-risk management. He also contributed to the company's development in fixed income.

Capitalising on his extensive understanding of institutional investment, René has also worked actively to promote and develop socially responsible investing (SRI) in Switzerland. As a director of Ethos Services SA (the operating company of Ethos, Swiss Foundation for Sustainable Development) for more than fifteen years, he acquired in-depth knowledge of the realities and challenges facing those investing in this field.

Underlying his commitment to the banking and financial services sector, René has since 1988 lectured in finance at the University of Geneva and was appointed Adjunct Professor in 2019. He currently teaches the Fixed Income & Credit Risk course on the M.Sc. in Wealth Management. He is also co-heading the new DAS (Diploma of Advanced Studies) in Asset Management.

Since 1991, he has taught on fixed-income investing at the Swiss Training Centre for Investment Professionals (AZEK).

AREAS OF EXPERTISE

Backed by more than thirty-five years of expertise in asset management and institutional investment as well as university-level teaching, René Sieber offers independent consulting services in the following areas:

ASSET MANAGEMENT AND CORE MARKET RISKS

Within asset management, René has specialised in fixed-income investing and CPPI-based portfolio insurance – a dynamic risk-management technique for which he is a recognised pioneer in Switzerland. Accordingly, he has unique experience in designing, implementing and managing equity and currency overlays and using similar techniques in managing interest-rate risk.

SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE INVESTING (SRI)

As a director of Ethos Services SA since 2002, René is fully aware of the realities and challenges inherent to SRI and puts this knowledge to use for both service providers and investors. Ethos Services SA is the operating company of Ethos, Swiss Foundation for Sustainable Development, bringing together more than two hundred twenty Swiss pension funds and public utility foundations. René Sieber was appointed Chairman of the Swiss Sustainable Funds Awards Jury in November 2019. These prizes are awarded by the Geneva Forum for Sustainable Investment (GFSI) to the best-performing funds and asset managers with the greatest commitment to socially responsible investment.

INVESTMENT POLICIES

His broad experience in financial markets, in addition to his specialist fields, enables René to offer accurate advice to investment and supervisory committees. Since 2007, he has been a member of the Asset Management Committee of Ethos Services SA and, since 2015, its chairman. Since 2012, he has also been an external member of the Vaudoise Assurances Board Sub-Committee on Investment.

DIRECTORSHIPS AND BUSINESS CONSULTING

As co-founder of Dynagest SA, a Geneva-based asset manager, René knows how to define and secure approval for business development strategies, as well as knowing how to manage and monitor implementation. René Sieber was a director of this company for nearly twenty five years (1) and served on the board of a Luxembourg investment-fund management company for nearly twenty years (2). Board Member of Ethos Services since 2002, he sits today on the board of different other companies.

(1) Board chairman for thirteen years.

(2) Board chairman for seven years.

TEACHING EXPERIENCE

René Sieber began teaching economics and finance as a teaching assistant during his doctoral studies at the University of Geneva. Since then, he has been constantly committed to passing on his financial expertise in both academic and professional settings. He currently partners with the following institutions:

Université de Genève (UNIGE)

Geneva School of Economics and Management (GSEM) and Geneva Finance Research Institute (GFRI). René is an Adjunct Professor and teaches a course dedicated to bond management, Fixed Income and Credit Risk, as part of the M.Sc. in Wealth Management. He has close to thirty years of experience in teaching on fixed income, having lectured in finance at the University of Geneva since 1988.

Centre for Continuing and Distance Education (CFCD). From 1996 to 2015, René taught a course on currency risk management as part of the CAS (1) in Quantitative Portfolio Management, of which he became co-director in 2007. Together with Prof. Rajna Gibson Brandon and Dr Nicole Beiner, he co-heads the new DAS (2) in Asset Management.

(1) Certificate of Advanced Studies.
(2) Diploma of Advanced Studies.

SWISS TRAINING CENTRE FOR INVESTMENT PROFESSIONALS (AZEK)

Since 1991, René has taught on fixed-income modules for the training centre of the Swiss Financial Analysts Association (SFAA). He is chiefly active in the CIIA programme, which leads to the awarding of the Advanced Federal Diploma of Financial Analyst and Portfolio Manager and the Certified International Investment Analyst (CIIA®) Diploma.

PUBLICATIONS AND CONFERENCES

Throughout his career, René Sieber has regularly published articles in specialist magazines on his expert fields within asset management. He has also been invited to speak on these topics at conferences and round-table events in Switzerland.

SELECTION OF SPECIALIST ARTICLES
CONFERENCES/ROUND TABLES
(SINCE 2010)
  • Gestion asymétrique du risque, round-table event during the Salon PPS, Geneva, 6 April 2011.
  • Risque de change : une gestion différenciée selon les classes d’actifs et l’apport d’un «currency overlay» systématique, presentation given at the GIP seminar-Groupement des institutions de prévoyance, Lausanne, 10 February 2012.
  • Entre «currency overlay» actif et passif : l’asymétrie d’une approche dynamique systématique, presentation given at the Swiss Pensions Conference of the CFA Society (Switzerland), Geneva, 16 March 2016.
  • FX Risk and Management Challenges, presentation given at the Financial Summer Translation Conference organized by the Swiss Association of Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters (ASTTI), Spiez, 3 July 2019 (the pdf of the presentation is available on request).

Contact

Prof. René Sieber
Asset Management Advisory Services
Cour-St-Pierre 4
1204 Geneva

René Sieber

René Sieber consacre ses compétences et connaissances ainsi que son expérience professionnelle et académique à des activités de conseil. Professeur titulaire en finance auprès de l'Université de Genève, il a à son actif près de trente-cinq ans de présence en direct sur les marchés financiers et plus de vingt-cinq ans de management.

Ses domaines d'intervention couvrent la gestion d'actifs et des principaux risques de marché. Pionnier en Suisse de l’assurance de portefeuille qu’il a pratiquée dès les années nonante et au développement de laquelle il n’a cessé de contribuer, René Sieber est un spécialiste de ces approches de gestion quantitative. Il est aussi engagé dans l’investissement socialement responsable (ISR), secteur dans lequel il a acquis durant ces quinze dernières années une connaissance approfondie de la réalité et des enjeux. En novembre 2019, il a été nommé président du jury des Swiss Sustainable Funds Awards décernés par le Geneva Forum for Sustainable Investment (GFSI).

C'est notamment à l'avantage de conseils d'administration, de conseils de fondation ou de comités d’investissement, que René Sieber propose l'expérience et l'expertise qu'il a construites et validées tant dans l'asset management institutionnel que dans la gestion et le développement d'une structure dédiée, ainsi que le réseau professionnel qu'il a développé.

Biographie

Après avoir obtenu, auprès de l'Université de Genève (UNIGE), un doctorat en économie consacré au domaine de l’investissement international et fréquenté pendant une année le Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), de Cambridge (MA), en tant que Visiting Scholar, René Sieber a débuté, en 1985, son parcours professionnel dans la gestion d’actifs auprès de l'un des futurs éléments constitutifs d'EFG Group, la Banque de Dépôts, installée à Genève. Il y a occupé le poste d'économiste, responsable également de la définition de la politique d’investissement.

En 1987, il a rejoint Unigestion S.A., à Genève, établissement actif dans l’asset management. En charge de la stratégie de placement obligataire, il y a été nommé responsable du Service de gestion des comptes institutionnels en 1990.

En 1993, René Sieber a choisi l'indépendance et cofondé Dynagest S.A., une structure d'asset management au sein de laquelle il oeuvrera jusqu'en 2018. Etablie à Genève, cette société d'asset management indépendante s'est spécialisée dans les taux d'intérêt et la gestion quantitative dans le domaine institutionnel. Elle a obtenu en 2006 le statut de négociant en valeurs mobilières octroyé par la FINMA*. Au sein de cette entité, outre la coresponsabilité de la définition de la stratégie de l’entreprise et du développement des affaires, René Sieber a orienté et dirigé la gestion quantitative en assurance de portefeuille et supervisé la gestion obligataire et la recherche.
* antérieurement à 2009, Commission fédérale des banques (CFB).

Le succès rencontré par les produits de gestion des risques en assurance de portefeuille, notamment de currency overlay et d’equity overlay, a permis à Dynagest S.A., dont les actifs sous gestion ont dépassé les cinq milliards de CHF, de figurer durant plusieurs années dans le classement des Top 400 Asset Managers européens, classement établi par le magazine de référence, Investment and Pensions Europe (IPE). Si René Sieber a joué un rôle majeur dans le positionnement de la société, reconnue dès la fin des années nonante comme l’un des pionniers de la gestion asymétrique des risques de marchés en Suisse, il a aussi contribué au développement de Dynagest S.A. dans le domaine du fixed income.

Interlocuteur privilégié du monde institutionnel, René Sieber a, par ailleurs, activement oeuvré au rayonnement et au développement de la pratique de l'investissement socialement responsable (ISR) en Suisse. Depuis plus de quinze ans, en tant qu'administrateur d'Ethos Services SA, entité opérationnelle d'Ethos, fondation suisse pour un développement durable, il a acquis dans ce domaine une connaissance approfondie de la réalité et des enjeux.

Accompagnant et renforçant son engagement en tant que professionnel du monde bancaire et financier, René Sieber a été actif, en tant que chargé de cours en finance, dès 1988, auprès de l’Université de Genève. Nommé professeur titulaire en 2019, il assure, dans le cadre de la maîtrise en gestion de patrimoine, un enseignement consacré à la gestion obligataire, intitulé Fixed Income & Credit Risk. Au sein de cette institution universitaire, il assure également la co-direction du nouveau DAS en asset management.

Cet engagement dans la transmission des savoirs académiques et professionnels, René Sieber l'a aussi déployé, depuis 1991, au sein du Swiss Training Center for Investment Professionals (AZEK), cadre dans lequel il dispense un enseignement consacré à la gestion obligataire.

Domaines d'intervention

Au bénéfice de compétences et d’expériences combinées pendant plus de trente-cinq ans dans l’asset management et la gestion institutionnelle, ainsi que dans l’enseignement universitaire et professionnel en finance, René Sieber est en mesure de proposer ses services de conseiller externe indépendant dans les domaines suivants:

Gestion d’actifs et des principaux risques de marché

Dans son activité de gérant d’actifs, René Sieber s’est spécialisé dans deux domaines : la gestion obligataire et l’assurance de portefeuille de type CPPI. Pionner reconnu en Suisse dans le développement et l’application de cette technique dynamique de gestion des risques, il dispose d’une expérience unique dans la conception, la mise en œuvre et la gestion de programmes et de produits d’equity overlay (gestion du risque de marchés d’actions), de currency overlay (gestion du risque de devises), ainsi que dans la gestion du risque de taux d’intérêt.

Gestion d’investissements socialement responsables (ISR)

Administrateur d’Ethos Services S.A., à Genève, depuis 2002, René Sieber a acquis une connaissance approfondie de la réalité et des enjeux du développement durable, une connaissance pouvant être valorisée tant pour des prestataires de services que pour des investisseurs. Ethos Services S.A. est l'entité opérationnelle de la fondation Ethos, fondation suisse pour un développement durable qui regroupe plus de deux cent vingt caisses de pension et fondations d'utilité publique suisses. En novembre 2019, René Sieber a été nommé président du jury des Swiss Sustainable Funds Awards. Ces prix sont décernés par le Geneva Forum for Sustainable Investment (GFSI) aux fonds et sociétés de gestion les plus performants et les plus engagés en matière d’ISR.

Définition de politiques de placement

Sa connaissance et son expérience des marchés financiers associées à l'expertise acquise dans ses domaines de spécialisation permettent à René Sieber d’apporter une contribution pertinente dans des structures chargées de définir et de valider des politiques de placement. A ce titre, il est membre, depuis 2007, du Comité de gestion d’Ethos Services S.A., à Genève, comité qu’il préside depuis 2015. Depuis 2012, il est également membre, comme expert externe, du Comité d’investissement du Conseil d’administration de Vaudoise Assurances, à Lausanne.

Administration de sociétés

Co-fondateur de Dynagest S.A., société d’asset management genevoise, René Sieber a acquis une solide expérience dans la définition de la stratégie de développement d’une entreprise, la validation de celle-ci, la gestion et le contrôle de sa mise en œuvre. Administrateur de cette société durant près de vingt-cinq ans (1), René Sieber a également siégé, pendant près de vingt-ans au Conseil d'administration d’une société luxembourgeoise de gestion de fonds de placement (2). Administrateur d’Ethos Services SA depuis 2002, il siège aujourd’hui au sein de différents autres conseils.

(1) Président du Conseil pendant treize ans.

(2) Président du Conseil pendant sept ans.

Enseignements

René Sieber a débuté ses activités d'enseignement dans le domaine de l'économie et de la finance durant ses études doctorales, comme assistant d'enseignement auprès de l'Université de Genève. Engagé depuis lors dans la transmission des savoirs académiques et professionnels, il intervient aujourd'hui auprès des institutions suivantes:

Université de Genève (UNIGE)

Faculté d’économie et de management (GSEM) et Geneva Finance Research Institute (GFRI). Professeur titulaire, René Sieber assure dans le cadre du Master en gestion de patrimoines (GEMWeM), un enseignement consacré à la gestion obligataire intitulé Fixed Income and Credit Risk. Dans son ensemble, en matière d'enseignement des taux fixes, il a construit une expérience de près de trente ans, occupant dès 1988 un poste de chargé de cours en finance auprès de l'université genevoise.

Centre pour la formation continue et à distance (CFCD). De 1996 à 2015, René Sieber a dispensé un cours sur la gestion du risque de change dans le cadre du CAS (1) en gestion quantitative de portefeuille, programme dont il a assumé la co-direction dès 2007. Il assure, en collaboration avec Prof. Rajna Gibson Brandon et Dr. Nicole Beiner, la co-direction du nouveau DAS (2) en asset management.

(1) Certificate of Advanced Studies/Certificat de formation continue universitaire.
(2) Diploma of Advanced Studies/Diplôme de formation continue universitaire.

Swiss Training Centre for Investment Professionals (AZEK)

Depuis 1991, René Sieber dispense un enseignement dans le cadre du module obligataire des formations proposées par la Swiss Financial Analysts Association (SFAA) via son centre de formation, l’AZEK. Il enseigne notamment, dans le cadre du programme CIIA qui permet l’obtention du Diplôme fédéral d’analyste financier et de gestionnaire de fortunes, et du Diplôme international de Certified International Investment Analyst CIIA®.

Publications et conférences

Tout au long de sa carrière, René Sieber a publié régulièrement des articles dans le cadre de revues professionnelles et de magazines spécialisés, articles consacrés à ses domaines de prédilection en asset management. Il a également été invité à intervenir sur ces sujets lors de conférences, de tables rondes et de présentations organisées par différentes institutions professionnelles en Suisse.

SELECTION D'ARTICLES THEMATIQUES
CONFERENCES/TABLES RONDES
(depuis 2010)
  • Gestion asymétrique du risque, table-ronde organisée dans le cadre du Salon PPS- Prévoyance professionnelle suisse, Genève, 6 avril 2011.
  • Risque de change : une gestion différenciée selon les classes d’actifs et l’apport d’un «currency overlay» systématique, présentation faite dans le cadre du séminaire du GIP-Groupement des institutions de prévoyance, Lausanne, 10 février 2012.
  • Entre «currency overlay» actif et passif : l’asymétrie d’une approche dynamique systématique, présentation faite dans le cadre de la Swiss Pensions Conference de la CFA Society Switzerland, Genève, 16 mars 2016.
  • FX Risk and Management Challenges, conférence donnée dans le cadre de l’Université d’été de la traduction financière de l’ASTTI (Association suisse des traducteurs terminologues et interprètes), Spiez, 3 juillet 2019 (le pdf de la présentation est disponible sur demande).

Contact

Prof. René Sieber
Conseil en gestion d'actifs
Cour-St-Pierre 4
1204 Genève